Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

A short video of me talking

because if you're thinking of taking my workshop, you might want to know what I look and sound like

Ok, so I admit I originally posted this video on TikTok, a fascinating platform I only look at once a week. In general, I find video after video overwhelming, so I leave that to younger people. But I wanted to make sure folks understood what I’m doing: offering a supportive community for people to explore and transform their grief through writing creatively about it.

And then I thought, “So far, only former students of mine have signed up for workshops. Maybe people need to see and hear what I’m like.”

Of course, when I watch and listen to the video, I cringe. To me, a photo is like text: you can shape and revise it before anyone sees it, controlling the experience. A video allows more flaws to shine through, especially when you’re a novice like me. I’m also one of those people who clicks “hide self view” on Zoom calls so I don’t get distracted by watching myself. I figure I don’t watch myself when I’m physically with people, so why would I now?

My workshops will work for people who write a publish regularly, those who write but don’t much care about publishing, and folks with no creative writing experience at all. The prompts and readings I offer will include poems and short life writing pieces (also known as creative nonfiction). We will spend time establishing thoughtful ways to respond to other participants’ writing that focus on support, understanding, and encouragement. Compassion and nonjudging acceptance will guide discussion.

The workshops are on sale for $150 for 5 weeks—two-hour sessions through Zoom. This is grief support that’s not therapy, though it might work in connection with or instead of therapy. The Divorce & Breakups workshop is supposed to begin in 10 days and has 4 spots left; the Family & Loss begins in 12 days and has 5 spots left. Please share with people you know who might benefit. And yes, the website really is nofeelingisfinal.ink.

0 Comments
Creative Grieving
Creative Grieving
Authors
Katie Riegel